

Appeals Sub-Committee (School Transport)

MINUTES OF THE APPEALS SUB-COMMITTEE (SCHOOL TRANSPORT)
MEETING HELD ON 21 OCTOBER 2024 AT DE LA WYLE MEETING ROOM COUNCIL OFFICES, BOURNE HILL, SALISBURY, SP1 3UZ.

Present:

Cllr Brian Dalton, Cllr Andrew Davis and Cllr Graham Wright

13 **Election of Chairman**

Cllr Graham Wright was elected as Chairman for this appeal only.

Cllr Graham Wright in the Chair.

14 <u>Declarations of Interest</u>

There were no declarations of interest.

15 **Minutes**

The minutes from the previous School Transport Appeal held on 4 June 2024 were presented. After which, it was;

Resolved:

To approve and sign as a true and correct record the minutes of the meeting held on 4 June 2024.

16 **Meeting Procedure**

The Chairman outlined the meeting procedure as detailed in the agenda.

17 Exclusion of the press and public

The panel considered whether to hold the meeting in closed session and it was:

Resolved:

To exclude members of the press and public for the business specified in Item no. 6 in accordance with section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972, (paragraph 1 and 2 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Act).

18 School Transport Appeal

The panel heard representations and replies from the Transport Officer and the appellant and asked questions of the parties involved. After which, the following decision was made:

The Panel accepted the Officer's report; however, the Panel chose to exercise their discretion to depart from the policy in order to provide a permanent, free of cost seat on the bus from Dinton to Sarum Academy for the duration of the Child's attendance at Sarum Academy.

The Panel agreed that the council would not be responsible for free home to school transport to Sarum Academy but exercised their discretion to provide a free cost seat whilst the current route is in place.

The Panel also agreed that it would be the parental responsibility to take the Child to the bus stop in Dinton.

This decision is enacted from 21 October 2024.

(Duration of meeting: 2.00 pm - 3.30 pm)

The Officer who has produced these minutes is Ben Fielding of Democratic Services, direct line 01225 718656, e-mail Benjamin.Fielding@wiltshire.gov.uk
Press enquiries to Communications, direct line (01225) 713114/713115